Jul 21, 2024  
2020-2021 Graduate Studies Bulletin 
2020-2021 Graduate Studies Bulletin [ARCHIVED BULLETIN]

The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication

Quick Clicks

About the School

Mark Lukasiewicz, Dean
Mario A. Murillo, Vice Dean
Adria Marlowe, Associate Dean

Michele Roberts, Assistant Dean for Student Affairs

Office: Room 318 The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication
Phone: 516-463-5215

Hofstra University’s Lawrence Herbert School of Communication, committed to the University’s liberal arts tradition, provides the opportunity to examine the world of humanistic inquiry through the interdisciplinary study of all forms of communication processes and institutions. With courses that explore the theoretical and practical nature of communication, the School provides its students with the opportunity to pursue scholarly inquiry and acquire technical experience. The School’s integrated approach is based on the belief that life in an advanced society demands knowledge of the arts, humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, business, and technology. Therefore, students are required to take a range of courses outside the major. Reciprocally, the School invites students in other university programs to learn about the impact and relevance of communication and communication systems. The curriculum aims to foster critical thinking; to explore aesthetics; to investigate ethics, humanistic values, and cultural diversity; to encourage originality and creativity; to expose students to current and converging technologies; and to provide the training for leadership in a technological age. With the conviction that the media exist to protect the freedoms of our society, the faculty is committed to a scholarly environment in which theoretical, historical, critical, and technological methodologies help students to question, challenge, and improve all forms of communication. The School strives to produce graduates who are active cultural contributors. To achieve this goal, the School emphasizes creative problem solving, responsible decision making and cooperative learning. Together the faculty and students of the School participate in an ongoing exploration of the roles, purposes, and technologies of communication.


Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations

Go to information for this department.

Radio, Television, Film

Go to information for this department.