Jun 17, 2024  
2005-2006 Law Catalog 
2005-2006 Law Catalog [ARCHIVED BULLETIN]

About Hofstra University and the School of Law

Hofstra University is a private, nonsectarian, coeducational institution. Dedicated at its founding in 1935 to providing a strong foundation in the liberal arts and sciences, Hofstra offers its students a wide range of undergraduate, graduate and professional programs. Hofstra students hail from 47 states and territories and 78 countries to earn a bachelor’s, master’s, doctoral degree, or a professional or advanced study diploma. The main academic divisions are: Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Communication, Frank G. Zarb School of Business, School of Education and Allied Human Services, New College, School for University Studies, University College for Continuing Education, School of Law, Saturday College and Honors College. The University’s campus includes 113 buildings on 240 acres.

There are approximately 13,300 students enrolled at Hofstra University. Graduate students represent approximately 29 percent of those students, including approximately 1,000 law students. Of a total of 1,325 faculty, 524 are fulltime. Ninety percent of full-time faculty hold the highest degrees in their fields. The University’s undergraduate programs span more than 130 specializations. The degrees conferred are associate in applied science, bachelor of arts, bachelor of business administration, bachelor of engineering, bachelor of fine arts, bachelor of science, bachelor of science in professional studies, and bachelor of science in education.

More than 140 graduate programs are offered, spanning every school and college of the University. Programs are offered in business and education leading to professional and advanced study diplomas and certificates. Doctoral and advanced degrees lead to the doctor of psychology, doctor of philosophy, doctor of education, professional diploma and certificate of advanced study, in addition to the J.D., J.D./M.B.A., J.D./M.S. Taxation and LL.M. offered by the law school. Hofstra University School of Law, founded in 1970, is nestled on the 240-acre Hofstra University campus in Hempstead, Long Island, just 25 miles east of Manhattan and in the heart of Long Island’s thriving business community. Hofstra Law School is fully accredited by the American Bar Association and the Association of American Law Schools. The Law School offers full- and part-time day and evening J.D. degrees. In addition, the school offers LL.M. degrees in American Legal Studies and International Law as well as joint master degree programs in Taxation and Business Administration.

The current Law School student body is approximately 1,000 students, with an alumni base of more than 8,000. Our faculty includes more than 45 dedicated members, many of whom are recognized as leaders in their field. Hofstra Law School is at the forefront of modern technology, offering students full wireless access anywhere within the Law School building, computerized exam taking, free access and training for LexisNexis and Westlaw systems and two computer labs dedicated to law students. In addition, the school boasts an information systems department with individuals dedicated to student needs and training. The Deane Law Library has an extensive collection, containing more than 539,000 holdings.

The School of Law emphasizes skills based teaching as an important part of the educational program. Hofstra uses three methods of skills education in its extensive program: client representation clinics, simulation-based courses and externships. Students may also take advantage of fellowship programs and pro bono opportunities.

The Law School has more than 25 active student organizations, ranging from the Older Wiser Law Students Association (OWLS) to the Corporate Law Society. We offer study abroad opportunities, including summer programs in Nice, France, Sorrento, Italy, and Sydney, Australia, and a winter program in Curaçao, Netherlands Antilles, all of which emphasize international and comparative law. In addition, Hofstra Law School students can take advantage of exchange programs with the University of Ghent, Belgium and Erasmus University Rotterdam, Netherlands.