Apr 19, 2024  
2010-2011 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2010-2011 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED BULLETIN]


The following areas are administered by this department: English; Creative Writing.

Associate Professor Fichtelberg, Chairperson
Professors Berger, Brand, Bryant, Burke, Couser, DiGaetani, Fichtelberg, Levin, Lopate, MacCary, Markus, McLaren, Prigozy, Russell, L. Zimmerman; Associate Professors Brogger, Fizer, Harshbarger, Janssen, Levine, Lorsch, Nass, Rustici, Sawhney, Smith, Sulcer, Uruburu, S. Zimmerman; Assistant Professors Henton, McPhee, Pasupathi, Sahay, Sills, Torpey, Valerius.

The John Cranford Adams Chair in the Humanities is held by Professor Phillip Lopate. See Academic Chairs and Distinguished Professorships.

English Honor Society. See Honors.

The Department of English offers a full range of courses in literature, creative writing, expository writing, and publishing. The department also offers tutorial services through the Writing Center, see Facilities and Services.

The English Major

When a student chooses to major in English, he or she must choose to concentrate either in English and American Literature, in Creative Writing† and Literature, or in Publishing Studies. Students who choose the English and American Literature concentration take a wide variety of courses in literature, organized around issues, authors, genres, or historical periods. Students who choose the Creative Writing and Literature concentration divide their course work between literature courses and workshops in writing prose, poetry, drama, essays, screenplays, and children’s literature. Students who choose the Publishing Studies concentration divide their course work between literature courses and courses in which they study the history and practice of publishing and the skills and techniques that are essential in the publishing industry.

English Programs 

English Courses