May 18, 2024  
2013-2014 Undergraduate Bulletin 
2013-2014 Undergraduate Bulletin [ARCHIVED BULLETIN]


Rhetoric Programs 

Rhetoric Courses 

Assistant Professor Dalton, Chairperson
Professor Merrill; Associate Professors Dalton, Sobnosky, Trasciatti; Assistant Professor Spieldenner

Candidates for graduation from The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication  with the degree of Bachelor of Arts must fulfill the B.A. requirements as listed under The Lawrence Herbert School of Communication. In addition, students majoring in the Department of Rhetoric must choose a concentration in one of three areas: speech communication; political communication; or communication, culture, and social action.

Note: The concentration in speech communication is recommended for students wishing to double major in rhetorical studies and another major. Students in other concentrations who wish to double major should consult with a department adviser as soon as they choose a major, in order to complete the major requirements on time.

Incoming freshmen and transfer students may declare a major in rhetorical studies; matriculated Hofstra University students must have a grade point average of at least 2.0 to declare a major in rhetorical studies. All declared majors inrhetorical studies must maintain a minimum grade point average in the major of 2.5 and a grade point average overall of 2.0 to remain in the major.